Henrietta Bulkowski on Kickstarter

19 Aug

As have so many before me, I recently fell in love…with Kickstarter.  It’s such a fine resource for filmmakers and it’s so fascinating to watch new film projects come together.  I love how the site lets me be a part of the process by kicking in a few bucks.  Frankly, crowdfunding gives me hope for the future of film because it takes the funding process out of the hands of studio execs and puts it in the hands of Internet randoms like myself.  If you wonder about its possibilities for women’s film and women’s concerns, just take a look at this stopmotion short project called Henrietta Bulkowski, directed by Rachel Johnson.  Be sure to take a look at her earlier short, The Toll Collector.  I love how that one digs down deep into the soil of women’s insecurities about their own bodies using detailed animation that allows us to get lost in the toll collector’s little world.  I expect great things to come of Johnson’s new short!

If you want to support women’s films, Kickstarter is a great way to do it, and Henrietta Bulkowski is a great place to start.

Leave a Reply

